Mom Friends

Lately I’ve been reading blog posts from this  year’s Relevant conference attendees. I wasn’t able to go but really wanted to, so reading about other women’s experiences during the conference weekend is inspiring to me.  One in particular today stood out — a post about insecurity and pride.  Reading Rachel’s post moved me to tears and made my heart ache, because I, too, have been there.  Not to that moment at that conference, but to that moment of chest-tightening fear that I am alone in a sea of bosom friends, and that maybe I don’t really belong there. Right after finishing this post, I ran across another on loneliness as a gift that really spoke to my soul as well. It’s so good to hear God speak, especially through the experiences of others who make me feel that I am not alone in these feelings of insecurity and loneliness.

For the past few months, I have felt so lonely here, disconnected from everyone but my husband, children, and some (now former) coworkers. I am friendly with several women at church and in my neighborhood. We know each other’s names, say hello, and chat about unimportant things. But I don’t have any close mom friends here, even after three years. My family is two hours away, so those moments of fellowship with my mom and sister are rare, which makes me feel even more isolated in this town.

This loneliness is something that I’ve been praying about, and God has been speaking to me lately through things that have shown up both in my daily quiet time and in my non-Bible readings. I have felt paralyzed and helpless, not really knowing where to start to find these women who I know God wants me to connect with. Today’s post reminded me that I’m not alone, and that every time I’m in a room where I feel like I am, there’s someone else there who feels exactly the same way.

I know that He has a friend out there that he’s handpicked for me at this point in my life.  Someone who needs a friend as much as I do. Right now, I’m praying that I can be patient until He shows me who she is, and that I’ll have eyes to see and ears to hear when he does. Thank you, Relevant ladies, for being so real and transparent. I may not be one of you, but you were exactly what I needed today. And thank you, Lord, for reminding me that I might be lonely, but I am not alone, because You are here and have something to teach me during this alone season.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I identify with this post so much. I live near my mom and all my in-laws, but have few close friends. Sometimes I feel so very lonely. Blogging and what not help me feel less alone, but deep friendships are still in the future for me. I will pray for this, your heart’s request.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your comment, Sarah. It made me feel less alone. I’m praying for the same for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

