Fall Back

Photo from Craziestgadgets

We turned our clocks back one hour last night. Grrr, says the sleepy mommy. When I was a kid, I loved that the end of Daylight Saving Time meant that I got an extra hour of sleep on Monday morning, but since having kids I have come to dread both the spring and the fall time changes.

Babies can’t tell time (and if they could, they wouldn’t care anyway). So it doesn’t matter that the clock says it’s only 4am, Baby Coco’s internal clock tells him it’s time to get up. We were at my mom’s house, where he doesn’t sleep well anyway, and so we’ve had a rough day schedule-wise. Naps were sporadic and short. His breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks were all at the wrong time. So, as you can imagine, bedtime tonight was rough.

I always feel as if it’s almost torture. My internal clock will be messed up for at least three days, and I know that the biggles and middles will feel the same way, even if right now they’re celebrating that extra hour in the morning. Give me a week and I’ll laugh about my time-change grouchiness. Until then, expect to see me eating lunch at 10 am and dinner with the Matlock crowd.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

