One Year

One year ago today, my husband and I waited in a hospital triage room to find out if we were really in labor or if we would be sent home.

One year ago today, we were a family of six, waiting on a seventh.

One year ago today, we prayed for a safe and healthy delivery, as we worried over the monitor readout.

One year ago today, I became a mommy again. It seems like yesterday, and at the same time, a lifetime ago. I can’t remember what life was like without this little guy.

We had such a scary pregnancy with this one. I have always had complications, including problems with placental attachment with my last pregnancy. But this time, I had a serious subchorionic bleed that kept me on bed rest for weeks at a time, more than once.

At ten weeks, I woke up in the middle of the night feeling a little wet and saw so much blood that we thought we had lost him. I remember sitting in the emergency room with my husband and the littles, trying not to cry while we waited for an ultrasound. Worrying about whether or not we should take the littles in with us and how we would explain it to all of the kids, because they were so excited about the baby. And the joy of seeing that precious heartbeat and knowing that he was still okay, combined with the fear of what was causing the bleed. God used this time to teach us faith and patience, as we learned to trust that we were all in His hands, and that whatever happened was beyond our control.

Later in the pregnancy, I had blood pressure issues that caused me to pass out without warning — a scary thing when your job is to be up on your feet in a classroom full of high school students all day. We were so thankful and relieved when he was finally born. He was preterm, but healthy and perfect, and we rejoiced and praised God that He had given us this little one.

I can’t believe it’s been a year. I can’t believe that the tiny baby we hoped and prayed for is now a big, friendly baby giant. Thank you Lord for letting him be a part of our family. We love you so much, birthday boy.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

